Category Archives: DUI DWI

Reasons Why You Should Never Drink and Drive in Washington

It’s New Year’s Eve, and the party is going strong. Yes, you drove yourself to the gathering and swore you wouldn’t have a drink. Still, the party is raging and what’s the harm in having a drink or two? If you live in the state of Washington, the laws against drunk driving are harsh, just as they are in many other states in the US. Though the temptation to take a drink may be strong, stop and consider the consequences before you indulge.

The Laws Against DUI in Washington

The laws against drunk driving are severe, and they carry serious penalties. A driver in Washington can be charged with drunk driving (DUI) if their blood alcohol level is found to over the legally acceptable limit, which is .08 for drivers age 21 and over. For commercial drivers, the legal level is .04 percent, and for drivers under the age of 21, it’s at .02 percent. However, drivers can be charged with a DUI even if their blood alcohol level is under the legal limit, in some cases. For this reason, alone, no one should get behind the wheel after consuming any alcohol.

The Consequences of a DUI Charge

Anyone who drives after consuming alcohol can be charged with the offense of DUI, and in Washington, a driver can face separate penalties all stemming from one DUI charge. If a driver is in an accident and there are passengers in the car, the charges will be even more grave.

Is it worth taking the risk of having your reputation and possibly your career ruined with a DUI charge? In Washington, a DUI charge for a first-time offense (or for a driver with no record of DUI in the past seven years) can lead to the suspension of a license for 90 days, and one to 364 days in jail. The fines can range from $940 to $5,000. Is it worth it to drink and drive? Clearly, it’s not. Be smart. Don’t drink and drive. Contact a Vancouver DUI attorney if you have been charged with a DUI today.

What are Virginia’s laws against driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol?

Virginia is well known for having some the most strict laws concerning the DUI and other traffic related violations. There are several stages that consist of a DUI arrest, and it’s not uncommon for the police to make mistakes and wrongly arrest the alleged perpetrator.

If a person is a first time offender, there is a mandatory one-year license suspension. Not only that but a breathalyzer has to be installed on the vehicle for six months; there will also be a five-day incarceration period if the blood alcohol content is 0.15%. If the blood alcohol content is more than 0.21%, then that consequence increases to a ten-day incarceration.

The implications for a second offense is three-year license suspension. Also, to a ten-day jail sentence if it happens with five to ten years after the first offense. An ignition interlock has to be installed on the vehicle for at least six months. If a person is an offender for the third time, it is considered a Class 6 felony and the offender’s driving privileges will be revoked indefinitely by the DMV.

To restore driving privileges, you would have to petition the court that convicted you. Then you will become eligible for a restricted driver’s license in three years and a full-fledged restoration in five years. If an offender is under 21 and has a blood alcohol content from 0.02 to 0.08, then they will be charged with a criminal offense with suspended license for six months and a $500 fine. Minors receive the same treatment as those who reached the legal drinking age, a DUI stays on a person’s record for eleven years and is a six-point offense in Virginia.

If you or a family member have been charged with a traffic violation in the state of Virginia, contact experienced Virginia traffic attorney David A.C. Long immediately. He utilizes his experience and knowledge of Virginia’s laws to protect the rights of his clients who might be facing legal issues such as DUI or reckless driving charges. Attorney David A.C. Long can also help those who are facing various traffic violations in the following Virginia cities:

What Are Virginia’s Laws On DUI?

For a first time offender, navigating the complex laws related to DUI in Virginia can be incredibly frustrating and challenging. To best understand your options, if you are indeed arrested for a DUI offense, there are a few things you are going to want to understand.

Knowledge is power when it comes to this type of circumstance. The more you know about Virginia DUI laws, the more productive your relationship with your DUI attorney is going to be.

Understanding Virginia DUI Laws

The penalties related to a DUI conviction vary, depending on how many prior convictions you have. While arrests can be contested and even beaten, the penalties for DUI convictions tend to include the following:

First offense: You may find yourself facing a minimum jail sentence of five days, two-hundred-and-fifty dollars in fines, and a license suspension of up to a single year.
Second offense: 2-time offenders may find themselves facing a jail term of twenty days to a full year, a minimum fine of five hundred dollars, a license suspension period of up to three years.

Third offense: If you are convicted for the third time, you may have your license suspended indefinitely. Furthermore, you may find yourself facing a minimum six-month jail sentence, in addition to minimum fines in the amount of one thousand dollars.

Obviously, you are going to want to take any DUI arrest seriously, regardless of whether you are facing your first conviction, your second, or your third. The severity of your charges is going to depend largely on your prior record, as well as something known as your BAC level (blood alcohol content). If you are under the age of twenty-one, you have to have a BAC level of .02%, to be considered legally drunk in the state of Virginia. If you are over the age of twenty-one, you must have a BAC level of .08%, to be considered legally drunk in the state of Virginia.

You should also keep in mind that Virginia has something called an implied consent law. What this means is that if you refuse to take a chemical test, you can be subject to automatic fines and suspensions. A 1st offense typically comes with a one-year suspension of your license. For 2nd or 3rd offenses, the suspension period can be even longer than that.

Regardless of your current situation, the dedicated DUI attorneys at the law office of David A.C. Long are able to give you the assistance you will need. So contact our experienced DUI attorneys today to ensure that you are rightfully protected. The law firm of David A.C. Long are able to represent clients that have been arrested for DUI in the following areas:

Bellevue Police Arrest Man For DUI Related Accident

According to Bellevue police, a DUI driver crashed into seven other vehicles on Thursday afternoon outside of the Factoria Mall. Following this event, the DUI driver attempted to carjack two other vehicles. A portion of the mall was closed down as a result. Many people called 911 to report the incident from the Factoria Mall.

When Police arrived, four civilians were holding the DUI driver down on the ground in attempts to keep the 32-year-old Lynnwood man from escaping before enforcers got to the scene. The driver was believed to be on some drug and was “pinballing” between the cars in the parking lot causing significant damage to most of the vehicles, as described by a witness.

The driver then exited his vehicle and attempted to remove two people in two different cars to carjack them. The first carjack victim, a man, was able to prevent the man from stealing his car. The second carjack victim was a woman. During the second carjacking attempt is when the four civilians managed to get him down to the ground No one involved in this seven car accident was seriously injured. However, the driver himself was sent to Overlake Hospital after complaining of arm pain. He was later transferred to King County Jail.

If you have been arrested for DUI in Bellevue and are not sure what to do, contact our dedicated criminal defense attorneys in Bellevue today.

Drunk Driver Arrested After Driving Wrong Way on I-85 Causing Accident in Dinwiddie

Late Monday Night, Virginia State Polic responded to an accident involved three vehicles with medical personnel just after 9:30 p.m. Apparently the accident occurred when a drunk Pennsylvania driver entered the wrong way on Interstate 85 and crashed into two semi trucks. State Police shut down the highway for several hours until the scene of the accident was clear and investigators had gathered what they needed.

The driver was identified as Oxford, Pennsylvania resident Kellie Clyde. According to investigators, the 1997 Dodge Dakota struck a semi near a work zone at mile marker 49. The Dodge then spun around and came to rest in the center of I-85 where it was hit by another tractor trailer.

Virginia State Police reported that Kellie was arrested and charged with DUI but didn’t disclose their condition.

If you or a family member have been arrested for DUI in Dinwiddie and are in need of help? Contact our experienced Dinwiddie DUI attorney today for a free legal consultation.