Understanding Reckless Driving Laws in Virginia
Reckless driving in Virginia is is a class one Misdemeanor offense and there are 14 types of reckless driving. All 14 types of reckless driving offenses can be found in the code of Virginia law section 46.2. Reckless driving in the state of Virginia is defined by any person who deliberately operates a motor vehicle in an unsafe or “reckless” manner without considering the consequences or the possible harmful outcome of their actions. The term reckless by definition means when a person or a person’s actions attempt something without caring about the consequences of their action.
All 14 types of reckless driving are a class one misdemeanor offense. As far as misdemeanors go, a class one offense is the most severe. This means that there are serious consequences for any person that is charged with reckless driving. These penalties can vary, but the minimum penalties for a class one misdemeanor in the state of Virginia are as follows:
- Jail time for up to 12 months
- A fine of up to $2,500
- Possible license suspension or revocation
- Criminal record
- Insurance increases
The 14 types of reckless driving according to Virginia state law are as follows:
General Reckless Driving
A general reckless driving charge will be given to anyone who causes a car accident due to any form of reckless driving. The Virginia statute states that reckless driving is “a disregard for the driver of a motor vehicle for the consequence of his act and an indifference to the safety of life, limb or property.”
Reckless Driving by Speed
A driver will receive a reckless driving charge if they drive 20 mph under the posted speed limit or over 80 mph in any area.
Reckless driving based on failure to maintain control or faulty brakes
If someone drives a vehicle that is not under proper control or a vehicle that has faulty breaks and causes an accident they will receive a reckless driving charge.
- Passing when the view is obstructed
- Car overloaded
- Passing two vehicles abreast
- Two vehicles in one lane
- Passing at an intersection or railroad crossing
- Passing a stopped school bus
- Failing to use proper signals
- Driving too fast for traffic conditions
- Failing to yield at the right away
If you are facing a reckless driving charge in the state of Virginia, getting in contact with a traffic attorney could greatly benefit your case. A Virginia traffic attorney could get your penalties reduced dramatically, and they may even be able to get your case dropped entirely. Avoiding a criminal record is vital, and a Virginia traffic attorney can build your case for you to assure that your case goes the way you need it to.